A few starter posts for new visitors

I’m on a list! Hello to anyone who has arrived here via Journalism.co.uk’s 36 blogs by journalists, for journalists, which was published today (and updated in the future in January 2022).

If you’re struggling for work and interested in making the digital transition from being a print sub, then you’ll find a fair few posts here on that. It’s the reason I started this blog. In fact, I still think blogging is one of the easiest and cheapest (free!) ways to self-train in digital publishing. Just set up a basic blog on WordPress.com (or platform of your choice) and Google anything you get stuck on.

Having made the transition, I don’t keep this site updated. My main site is now at fionacullinan.com, which has evolved into a hub for work and other projects. (Future update: in 2022 I’ve transitioned again. Still working as a digital content editor but also working as a walking artist. Who knew?).

Meanwhile, here are five of the most popular reads from Subs’ Standards, which tell a story of digital transition that will probably become more of a historical document in time. Enjoy!

Thanks for stopping by.

One response to “A few starter posts for new visitors

  1. e-mail oliviarosen

    Hi Fiona, hope all’s good and well done for being on the list! My blog is going well and it’s enjoyable to do. Latest post is: http://wp.me/p2twKj-cN I’ve just added your blog onto my ‘blogs I follow’.

    Work is thin on the ground, I’m trying to get more digital but not finding that easy either! Olivia